Photography for Etsy

More coffee sleeves cut out and ready to flip.

I’ve been having a tough time this weekend trying to figure out the best kind of photography for my Etsy shop. You can see here that when I photograph the coffee sleeves on the table against the green wall, the light and texture looks so good. But I have learned that using background colors different from the item itself discourages people from using these types of photos in Treasuries, collection that are sometimes chosen for the front page of Etsy.

New XOXO coffee sleeve

I don’t have a white or neutral colored wall in the room with the most light, so I decided to try a white curtain for the background. I don’t think it’s working out, though. The photo then becomes bleached out somehow. Or maybe my camera is just off.

Russian Dolls coffee sleeve

Anyway, I’ll be experimenting more. I hope this doesn’t affect item views!

One Response

  1. that sucks Kim – that green background makes your product pop!! the white background is blah…..I don’t exactly understand why the green background discourages anyone from using the shots. Do you have anything cream colored or off white you can try?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

