Fly Brain Fabric

My printed fabric from Spoonflower arrived last week. I wanted to test it out first by getting a swatch. I decided on an image that my friend, a scientist, had made from one of her experiments – A Fly Brain!

color brain

I thought the darkness of the image would really test the limits of the printed fabric. And besides, the fly brain is so cool looking that if it came out well enough then it might be nice to make stuff with it. What stuff, you ask? I have no clue, yet. That’s why I took so long to post this. I wanted to make something and post all stages of the project, but that will have to wait.

fly fabric brain from Spoonflower

It’s pretty amazing looking, but this might not be the best use of Spoonflower. I think the colors are too dark. You can tell from the close up below that you lose some details compared with the original.

fly brain close up

All in all, it’s pretty amazing to order your own fabric, so I would definitely use them again… As soon as I come up with a great design. There are certainly people out there who have used Spoonflower in amazing ways, one of my favorites being The Small Object who made a letter to her niece on a quilt.

2 Responses

  1. can we get a picture of MY brain for mybrain fabric?

  2. Sure. When ever you get your brain transplant you’ve been talking about, then we can get a photo and have it printed up as a memento.

Leave a Reply

